Monday, February 26, 2024
Monday, February 26, 2024
HomeAll The NewsThird Annual CBC Scholarship Gala 2022

Third Annual CBC Scholarship Gala 2022

CBC’s Third Annual Scholarship Gala will take place on Saturday, April 2 at 6 p.m. at the Conway Expo Center. The black-tie optional event will be catered by CBC Dining Services under the direction of Chef Jill McCollum. The night will be a celebration of Courageous Faith and will feature keynote speaker Alex Kendrick. The proceeds from the event will benefit the Central Baptist College Scholarship Fund, which supports institutionally funded scholarships.

Event sponsorships begin at $2,000. Single tickets are on sale for $100 each. For more information, to purchase tickets or to make a donation, visit or contact Director of Development Amy Reed at or (501) 205-8934.

Alex Kendrick has dedicated his life to following Jesus Christ and making His truth and love known among the nations. He was born in Athens, Ga. as the middle of three sons to Larry and Rhonwyn Kendrick. He grew up in Smyrna, Ga. and graduated from Kennesaw State University with a bachelor’s degree in Communications. Kendrick worked as a Christian DJ for two radio stations before attending New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary.

In 2002, Kendrick founded Sherwood Pictures, a movie-creating entity that produced “Overcomer,” “War Room,” “Courageous,” “Fireproof,” “Facing the Giants” and “Flywheel.” He is also a New York Times best-selling author. He has co-authored several books with his brother, Stephen, including “The Love Dare,” “The Resolution for Men,” and the “Battle Plan for Prayer.”

Kendrick and his brothers, Stephen and Shannon, operate Kendrick Brothers Productions. He and his wife, Christina live in Albany, Ga. with their six children and are active members of Sherwood Church.

Honor and Memorial Gifts

The following are honor and memorial contributions received since the last report by CBC. Some of the contributions are recurring gifts but are only listed once. However, the family and/or honoree received an acknowledgment each time an honor/memorial gift was received.

In Memory Of

Dossie Attebery, Harry Attebery, Jill Attebery, Dr. John Attebery, Leona Attebery, Margie Attebery, Verla Attebery, Russell Bagwell and Charles G. Taylor by Bro. & Mrs. Charles Attebery; Kenneth R. Brown, J.E. Cobb and Dr. Harold E. Cooper by Mr. & Mrs. Tommy L. Wallace; Jean Burgess, Jim Courtney and Norma C. Crass by Gale Garrison; Maggie Chandler by Patricia Simmons; George Condray by Glynna Condray; Coyce Couch by Dr. & Mrs. Joel Slayton; John A. Godfrey by Mr. & Mrs. Mike Godfrey; Erma Harrell by Marieca G. Ashworth; Opie Hefner by Mr. & Mrs. Jay L. Hefner; Ruby S. Hefner by Mr. & Mrs. Jay L. Hefner and Joyce Van Winkle; Rena Hoggard by Shirley Q. McCone; Dr. Ralph B. Hoshaw by Reta Hoshaw; Jim Lambright by Diane Sponer; Mildred Lambright by Mr. and Mrs. Don Jones, Diane Sponer and Karen L. Cizek; Elmer “B” Lindsey by Jenny H. Lindsey; Donna “Micki” M. Mitchell and Dr. Ron Mitchell by Esther M. Kershner-Mitchell; Carlene Smith by Marie Brown; and Scott W. Watson by Bro. & Mrs. Jimmy W. Thompson.

In Honor Of

Melrose S. Bagwell by Tracy F. Bagwell; Winston P. Foster, Jr. by Bro. & Mrs. Terry Kimbrow; Mary Ned Foster by Mr. & Mrs. Travis Faulk and Bro. & Mrs. Terry Kimbrow; Judy Gabbard by Mr. & Mrs. Tommy L. Wallace and Dr. Rawn Gabbard; Dr. Martin Jameson by Mr. & Mrs. Don Clark, Jr.; Terry Kimbrow by Mr. & Mrs. Donnie R. Reed; Crystal Long by Mr. & Mrs. Jeff Whittingham; Dr. Aaron New by Dr. & Mrs. Virgil Porter, Jr.; and Charles B. Ritchie by Mr. & Mrs. Gregory Ritchie.