Friday, June 21, 2024
Friday, June 21, 2024
HomeAll The NewsCBC Graduate Elected Republican Party Chairman

CBC Graduate Elected Republican Party Chairman

On Dec. 3, Cody Hiland, former United States Attorney for the Eastern District of Arkansas, was elected chairman of the Republican Party of Arkansas. This marked the annual winter State Committee Meeting of the Republican Party of Arkansas.

A native of Bee Branch, Cody attended Central Baptist College from 1990 through 1992, before receiving his Bachelor of Science degree from the University of Central Arkansas and his Juris Doctorate from the William H. Bowen School of Law in Little Rock.

“It is a great privilege to be elected as the next Republican Party Chairman, and I am honored to lead our party into the future,” Hiland said. “Arkansas is primed for success under Governor-elect Sarah Huckabee Sanders’ leadership, and I look forward to working with her and our legislative members to elect more conservatives up and down the ballot. Together, we will continue to fight for conservative values in this state.”

Chairman Hiland was sworn in at the conclusion of the meeting with his wife, Jana, by Arkansas Supreme Court Justice Barbara Womack Webb. Members of the Republican Party of Arkansas also elected First Vice Chair John Parke of Pulaski County, Second Vice Chair June Wood of Washington County, State Secretary Julie Harris of the Washington County and State Treasurer Nelda Speaks of Baxter County.

Cody served as United States Attorney for the Eastern District of Arkansas from October 10, 2017 until December 31, 2020. He was appointed to that position by President Donald J. Trump and was unanimously confirmed by the United States Senate. Prior to his appointment, he was the first Republican elected to the office of Prosecuting Attorney in the 20th Judicial District and was twice elected Prosecuting Attorney by the people of Faulkner, Van Buren and Searcy counties. In addition to private practice, Cody also served as an aide to former Arkansas Governor Mike Huckabee.