Saturday, June 22, 2024
Saturday, June 22, 2024
HomeAll The NewsCBC SPORTS UPDATE: Year End Tournaments

CBC SPORTS UPDATE: Year End Tournaments


• St. Louis, Mo., May 1 — The American Midwest Conference (AMC) announced their postseason baseball all-conference and gold glove teams. Luke McBride was the lone Mustang to receive All-Conference recognition while he joined Steven Stewart and Danilo Taborda on the gold glove team. 

• O’Fallon, Mo., May 2 — Beginning play in the AMC tournament, CBC was on CarShield Field against Hannibal-LaGrange in a single-elimination game. CBC (23-26) not only beat HLGU (5-33) 15-5 in eight innings in the first game, the took the second game from William Woods (28-19), 5-3. 

• O’Fallon, Mo., May 3 — After winning twice in comeback fashion on day one of the AMC Baseball Tournament, CBC looked to move through the winner’s bracket again, this time against the Cougars of Columbia College. CBC (24-27) lost to Columbia (36-13) 8-2 in game one before eliminating Williams Baptist (24-27) 6-5 to move into the semifinals.

• O’Fallon, Mo., May 4 — Looking to make an improbable run into the AMC Tournament championship series, CBC had to stave off elimination twice at CarShield Field, first against Lyon then against Missouri Baptist. CBC (25-28) got the job done against Lyon (20-25), scoring double-digit runs and winning 10-3 before falling to #8 Missouri Baptist (42-6) 14-2 to see their season come to an end.

• St. Louis, Mo., May 8 — The AMC announced their inaugural baseball all-tournament team and a pair of CBC players earned selection. Sophomore outfielder Nick Aide and junior pitcher Austin LeJeune were the two Mustangs selected.


• St. Louis, Mo., May 1 — The AMC named their final players of the week for the 2022-23 regular season and a CBC’s Kori Truelove was selected as hitter of the week for the first time in her career and is the third Mustang to earn that recognition this season.

• St. Louis, Mo., May 1 — The AMC handed out their softball postseason awards and six Mustangs were among the honorees. Kori Truelove was named the AMC Freshman of the Year while Averie Ayers, Katie Smith and Allison Wagle earned first team honors and Jordyn Frederic and Hannah Work earned second team honors. 

• Columbia, Mo., May 2 — Opening up play in the AMC tournament, CBC, the #3 seed, took on the #6 seed Williams Baptist in the opening round of the tournament. CBC (33-16) had to come from behind late, but a late double helped them down WBU (18-30) 5-4.

• Columbia, Mo., May 3 — Looking to carry some momentum from an AMC Tournament opening win over Williams Baptist, the #3 seeded CBC took on the #2 seeded Missouri Baptist Spartans in a winner’s bracket game at Antimi Softball Complex. CBC (34-17) lost to MBU (35-16) 3-2 in game one before ending William Woods’ season 5-1 in the second game.

• Columbia, Mo., May 4 — Looking to avoid elimination for the second straight day, CBC took on the Cottey Comets in a win-or-go-home game in the AMC Tournament at Antimi Softball Complex. CBC (34-18) couldn’t solve Cottey’s (33-18) starting pitcher and saw their run in the AMC Tournament end 4-3.

• St. Louis, Mo., May 8 — The AMC announced their all-tournament team selections from last week’s AMC tournament. CBC earned two selections to the team, Averie Ayers and Lauren Anderson.

Women’s Golf

• Mountain Home, May 1 — Playing for the final time in 2023, CBC teed off for the first round of the AMC Championship at Big Creek Golf & Country Club. CBC shot an opening round 401 and currently sits in seventh place. Individually, Alyssa Hagewood posted an opening round 79 and is currently in a three-way tie for the lead with golfers from Lyon College and Columbia College. Abby Kirby was next, shooting an opening round 88 while Laney Crutchfield posted a 102 and Caroline Citty shot a 132.

• Mountain Home, May 2 — Entering the day in seventh place, CBC looked to make up some ground in the final round of the AMC championship at Big Creek Golf and Country Club. CBC closed with a final round 421 to finish with a total score of 822 in seventh place. Individually, Alyssa Hagewood, who earned first-team all-conference honors, entered the final round tied for first and shot a final round 83 for a total score of 162, in a tie for third, one shot behind the co-winners. Abby Kirby finished with a total of 189, Laney Crutchfield shot a total of 203, and Caroline Citty finished with a score of 268.

Track & Field

• St. Louis, Mo., May 4 — The AMC Track & Field Championships began at Spartan Stadium and Ally Swaim posted the top time in the 100 hurdles, qualifying at 15.53, two-tenths of a second faster than the next closest competitor. Her time of 27.26 in the 200-meter prelims was good for the seventh fastest time and qualified her for tomorrow’s final.

• St. Louis, Mo., May 5 — Josh Brown won the AMC championship in the 110-meter hurdles. Brown’s time of 15.85 was .14 seconds faster than second place and helped him win individually and keep CBC’s streak of four straight seasons with at least one conference champ. Brown joined Ally Swaim, Cody McKnight and Jamal Washington as an AMC Champion in Track and Field. Swaim competed in two events, finishing second in the 100-meter hurdles and eighth in the 200 meters. Ashleigh Gross-Mitchell placed seventh in the shot put and eighth in the long jump. Isaiah Stiger placed eighth in the long jump and Jadon Price also competed in the long jump. Price also competed in shot put on the men’s side, recording a throw of just over 11 meters.