Friday, June 21, 2024
Friday, June 21, 2024
HomeAll The NewsCBC SPORTS UPDATE: May 11, 2022



• St. Louis, Mo., May 3 — The American Midwest Conference (AMC) announced the 2022 all-conference selections for baseball and CBC made history in the process. The Mustangs earned six all-conference and one gold glove selection while earning Player of the Year (Jay French) for the first time and Freshman of the Year (Logan Easterling) for the second straight season. Austin Teal also earned first-team honors, and Ruben Hernandez earned first-team honors at designated hitter. Garon Johnson was selected as a second-team pitcher. Wille Baez earned second-team honors for the second year in a row. Slayton Holland earned the pitcher’s gold glove this season, the Mustangs’ lone recipient.

• St. Louis, Mo., May 3 — Opening play in the AMC tournament, CBC played the Trojans of Hannibal-LaGrange (HLGU) at CarShield Field. CBC (26-27) would defeat HLGU (12-32) 9-2 to advance before falling 9-8 to William Woods (30-13) in their second game, causing them to fall into the loser’s bracket. Logan Easterling made history by homering in both games, giving him the most ever in a single season by a catcher, breaking the record previously held by Austin Kuchinski.

• O’Fallon, Mo., May 4 — Looking to avoid elimination and continue their season, CBC took on the Eagles of Williams Baptist University (WBU) in an elimination game in the AMC tournament at CarShield Field. CBC (27-27) pounded out 12 hits and scored 10 runs in a 10-5 win over WBU (26-30).

• O’Fallon, Mo., May 5 — Looking to avoid elimination, CBC took on the Spartans of Missouri Baptist (MBU) at CarShield Field in the semifinals of the AMC tournament. CBC (27-28) kept it close early, but couldn’t keep up offensively, falling to MBU (25-22) by the score of 17-3. Jay French had another big day, clubbing two home runs to give him 10 on the season and becoming the new single-season hits leader with 86, eclipsing Jalin Lawson’s 84 hits back in 2016.


• St. Louis, Mo., May 3 — The AMC announced their postseason softball awards, and five CBC Mustangs were among the selections. Three Mustangs were selected to the first team and two were selected to the second team. Averie Ayers, Savannah Sanford and Katie Smith all earned a first-team selection while Lauren Anderson and Kirstie Blackwood both earned second-team nods and Heather Hoffman was selected as the Champion of Character. It was the first selection to the all-conference team for each of these young ladies.

• Columbia, Mo., May 3 — Averie Ayers tossed a no-hitter for CBC to help the Mustangs stave off elimination from the AMC tournament at Battle High School. CBC (25-19) got put into the loser’s bracket by William Woods (21-21), losing 7-1 in the first game before Ayers’ no-hitter sent CBC on in the tournament and eliminated Williams Baptist (20-28).

• Columbia, Mo., May 4 — Fighting to stave off elimination, CBC took on Missouri Baptist University (MBU) in an elimination game in the AMC tournament at the Antimi Softball Complex. CBC (25-20) fought hard, but ultimately was eliminated on a walk-off home run, losing 3-2 to MBU (24-17).

Men’s Golf

• Mountain Home, May 3 — Entering the final round 15 shots off the lead, CBC looked to climb out of sixth place in the AMC championship at the Big Creek Golf & Country Club. CBC would close with a final round 314 to finish with a total of 631, 25 shots behind the eventual winners. Individually, Jakub Slapal closed with an even par 72 to finish with a total of 150 in sixth overall, four shots behind the winner. Travis Toebben closed with an 80 to finish at 159, Suraprat Pareepart, who was named the AMC Newcomer of the Year, closed with an 81 and a total of 161 and Anupon Wandee shot an 86 for a 156 while Emmanuel LaBeur, who didn’t play the first round, also shot an 81.

Women’s Golf

• Eugene, Mo., May 9 — CBC teed off in the first round of the AMC Championship at the Redfield Golf Course. CBC is in third place after the first round after shooting a 388, 61 shots behind the leaders from Columbia. Individually, Alyssa Hagewood paced the Mustangs with an opening-round 95 to put her in tie for 12th. Abby Kirby was two shots behind Hagewood after firing a 97 and both Keeley Bulza and Brooklyn Adcock shot 98s in the opening round.

Track & Field

• St. Louis, Mo., May 6 — The 2022 AMC Outdoor Track & Field Championships was held at Spartan Field on the campus of Missouri Baptist University. Ally Swaim qualified in two events and will run both hurdles events, meaning she has a chance to be a four-time conference champion.

• St. Louis, Mo., May 7 — With final events scheduled, CBC had four athletes competing in six events. Two athletes, Ally Swaim and Josh Brown, medaled while Swaim earned even higher recognition as well. Swaim was named the Outstanding Women’s Track Athlete of the Year.